Googolisation

williamgibsonbooks.com

Posted in Uncategorized by Moe on October 15, 2008

I eventually became exactly the sort of introverted, hyper-bookish boy you’ll find in the biographies of most American science fiction writers, obsessively filling shelves with paperbacks and digest-sized magazines, dreaming of one day becoming a writer myself.
clipped from www.williamgibsonbooks.com

Gibson: It’s not that interesting for me. I’m okay with it because it doesn’t pull me in that much. The thing that limits you with Google is what you can think of to google, really. There’s some kind of personal best limitation on it, unless you get lucky and something you google throws up something you’ve never seen before. You’re still really inside some annotated version of your own head.
Amazon.com : I think for some writers, they’d never get back in the pool with Google open to them.
Amazon.com : Right, instead of being in a bookstore where you can browse and have things come to you, you’re browsing in your own brain.

Gibson: On my internet, the stuff in my bookmarks is like really small. Sometimes too small, crowded. But I sort of stay there.
Amazon.com : That’s your neighborhood.

Gibson: I imagine most people do.
  blog it
Leave a Reply

