Googolisation

www.williamgibsonbooks.com

Posted in Uncategorized by Moe on October 15, 2008

Courtesy of Amazon.com
clipped from www.williamgibsonbooks.com
Amazon.com : How do you research? If you want to write about, say, GPS, like you do in your new book, do you actively research it and seek out experts, or do you just perceive what’s out there and make it your own?

Gibson: Well, I google it and get it wrong [laughter]. Or if I’m lucky, Cory Doctorow tells me I’m wrong but gives me a good fix for it. One of the things I discovered while I was writing Pattern Recognition is that I now think that any contemporary novel today has a kind of Google novel aura around it, where somebody’s going to google everything in the text. So people–and this happened to me with Pattern Recognition–would find my footprints so to speak: well, he got this from here, and this information is on this site.
Amazon.com : You’re annotated out there.
  blog it
Leave a Reply

